Contact Jasper EMA

Top Calendar

Disaster Proclamation

Gov. Reynolds issues disaster proclamation for four counties


JULY 2, 2018 – Gov. Kim Reynolds issued a disaster proclamation today for Boone, Dallas, Jasper, and Polk counties in response to flooding and severe weather beginning June 14 and continuing.


The governor’s proclamation allows state resources to be utilized to respond to and recover from the effects of this severe weather in these four counties and activates the Iowa Individual Assistance Grant Program for qualifying residents, along with the Disaster Case Management Program.

Map of the counties covered by governor's proclamations in June 2018. Click on the map to access a PDF version.

The Iowa Individual Assistance Grant Program provides grants of up to $5,000 for households with incomes up to 200 percent of the federal poverty level or a maximum annual income of $41,560 for a family of three. Grants are available for home or car repairs, replacement of clothing or food and temporary housing expenses. Original receipts are required for those seeking reimbursement for actual expenses related to storm recovery. The grant application and instructions are available on the Iowa Department of Human Services website. Potential applicants in Warren County have 45 days from the date of the proclamation to submit a claim. (Aug. 16, 2018)


Disaster Case Management is a program to address serious needs to overcome a disaster-related hardship, injury or adverse condition. Disaster case managers work with clients to create a disaster recovery plan and provide guidance, advice and referral to obtain a service or resource. There are no income eligibility requirements for this program; it closes 180 days from the date of the governor’s proclamation. For information on the Disaster Case Management Program, contact your local community action association or visit


Residents of counties impacted by the recent severe weather are asked to report damage to help local and state officials better understand the damage sustained. Damage to property, roads, utilities and other storm-related information may be reported. This information will be collected by the Iowa Department of Homeland Security and Emergency Management and shared with local emergency management agencies.


The governor has issued four previous proclamations that activated the Iowa Individual Assistance and Disaster Case Management programs as a result of the same storm system:

  • Friday, June 29
    Application deadline is Aug. 13, 2018
  • Wednesday, June 27
    Cherokee, Webster
    Application deadline is Aug. 13, 2018
  • Monday, June 25
    Hancock, Humboldt, Plymouth, Sioux, Winnebago
    Application deadline is Aug. 10, 2018
  • Friday, June 21
    Clay, Dickinson, Emmet, Kossuth, Lyon, Osceola, Palo Alto, Scott, Story
    Application deadline is Aug. 6, 2018
  • Friday, June 15
    Hamilton, O’Brien
    Application deadline is Aug. 2, 2018

On Saturday, June 23, the governor issued a disaster proclamation for Lyon, Plymouth, Sioux, and Woodbury counties, which suspended regulatory provisions of Iowa Code related to the hours of service of disaster repair crews and drivers delivering goods and services while responding to a train derailment in Lyon County.


Gov. Reynolds also issued a disaster proclamation on Monday, June 11, for seven counties as a result of a separate storm system that began June 7: Allamakee, Bremer, Chickasaw, Cerro Gordo, Floyd, Howard and Winneshiek counties. The deadline to apply for assistance in those counties for that storm system is July 27.

No comments yet.

Leave a Reply

Copyright 2016 - Jasper County EMA